Ubuntu: Usable Linux

Links and notes that have helped me manage my Ubuntu installations

Ubuntu 9.04 on an iMac G5

Using the 9.04 PPC Desktop CD didn’t work for me. The screen remained black, the fans whirred and I had to use the power button to shut down the computer. I then tried the 9.04 Server CD which worked fine for the command line only server install. Since I wanted the Ubuntu Desktop, I then used apt-get install ubuntu-desktop to try and add the desktop to the system. That didn’t work either. I ended up with the same symptoms as my Desktop attempt. So, finally, I tried the Ubuntu 9.04 Mac (PowerPC) and IBM-PPC (POWER5) alternate install CD which worked like a charm. Here are the steps I took:

  1. Booted with the alternate install CD (held down C after I heard the Mac sound shortly after power up)
  2. At the boot: prompt typed in install video=ofonly

That’s it. I went through the familiar install process at the end of which I had an Ubuntu Desktop (that I’m currently using to create this blog).

Written by Mat

May 21, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Posted in Ubuntu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

