Ubuntu: Usable Linux

Links and notes that have helped me manage my Ubuntu installations

Remote Desktop

To connect to my Ubuntu machines and get the Gnome desktop remotely, I did the following:

  1. Installed nomachine client, node and server on the server
  2. Installed nomachine client on the client
  3. Updated the firewall rules on the server to allow ssh access from the client

I found these instructions useful.

Note: After I installed a newer version of OpenSSH on the server, the keys changed. I encountered an authentication error that refered to  keys in /usr/NX/home/nx/.ssh/known_hosts. I could log on after I removed the file on the server (after backing it up).

Written by Mat

March 29, 2008 at 12:14 am

Posted in Ubuntu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

